ARC Review: Something in the Water

img_6377

36388243Title: Something in the Water

Author: Catherine Steadman

Genre: Thriller/Mystery

Publisher: Ballantine

Publication Date: June 5, 2018

Links: Goodreads | Amazon* | Book Depository*

Rating: 4 stars

Synopsis: A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut–for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena.

If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you?

Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately in love, they embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, where they enjoy the sun, the sand, and each other. Then, while scuba diving in the crystal blue sea, they find something in the water. . . .

Could the life of your dreams be the stuff of nightmares?

Suddenly the newlyweds must make a dangerous choice: to speak out or to protect their secret. After all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events. . . .

Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave?

Wonder no longer. Catherine Steadman’s enthralling voice shines throughout this spellbinding debut novel. With piercing insight and fascinating twists, Something in the Water challenges the reader to confront the hopes we desperately cling to, the ideals we’re tempted to abandon, and the perfect lies we tell ourselves.

thoughts-2

 

This truly has been my summer of suspense novels! I just cannot get enough of them and summer seems like the perfect time to read some things a bit on the darker side.

Something in the Water is about a couple, Erin and Mark. They get married and go on the ideal honeymoon to Bora Bora. However, while they’re enjoying some time out diving in the ocean, they come across tons of papers floating in the water, a plane crash and then a bag. The contents of the bag are what starts the couple down a dark, unknown path.

This book was so fun to read. I don’t know how the author managed to do it, but the entire time I was reading I felt like something ominous was lurking just outside of my reach. As a reader, you spend a lot of time in Erin’s head and sometimes you can see things that she isn’t quite catching, but at the same time you don’t know for sure what it means either. You know something is going to happen, and things feel dark, but it’s all overlaid by this lovely marriage and Erin’s job as a documentary film maker.

I couldn’t put this book down and spent an entire busy weekend reading in the quiet moments, sneaking a few paragraphs in where ever I could because I just wanted to know what happens!

But that is where a star is lost for me. Slight spoiler ahead!

I didn’t feel like I got as many answers as I would have liked. I was still left wondering at the end why it all started, what was the initial thing that set this all in motion and where did it all go wrong? Maybe it’s better that we don’t know since it doesn’t necessarily fit into the story, but I just felt like I needed a few more answers.

For more great summertime suspense novels, check out my post here!

Thank you so much to Random House Publishing – Ballantine & NetGalley for sending me a copy in exchange for an honest review!

IMG_8350-Elizabeth

Bookish Connoisseur

Connect with me:

Instagram | Goodreads | Twitter

Please note: All links marked with (*) are affiliate links. Meaning, if you click and make a purchase I will get a small percentage of the purchase price from the retailer. Purchases like these help support my blog!

One thought on “ARC Review: Something in the Water

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: July 2018 | Bookish Connoisseur

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s